General Election 2019: Everything you need to know

Published on by Jack Oliver (author)

 (photo: )


Dominating the discussions this year are topics such as Brexit, the NHS and austerity.

The Conservatives currently hold the most seats in Parliament with 298, but 326 are needed for a majority.

Here in Brighton, we have two constituencies: Brighton Pavilion, held by the Green Party’s only current MP Caroline Lucas, and Brighton Kemptown, held by Labour’s Lloyd Russell-Moyle.

Because there are two constituencies, it’s important to make sure you know which one you’re voting in! If you’re voting tactically this is extra important.

Polls open at 7am and close at 10pm. If you’ve registered to vote, you should have received a polling card with the location of your polling station by now.

You do not need to take any ID with you, and even if you’ve registered in multiple places, you can only vote once.

Here is the full list of candidates below:

Brighton Kemptown:

Graham Cushway – Brexit Party

Joe Miller – Conservative

Alexandra Phillips – Green

Lloyd Russell-Moyle – Labour

Ben Thomas – Liberal Democrats

Brighton Pavilion:

Richard Milton – Brexit Party

Emma Hogan – Conservative

Caroline Lucas – Green

Bob Dobbs – Independent

Adam Imanpour – Labour

Citizen Skwith – Monster Raving Loony

Nigel Furness - UKIP


0 Response(s) to “General Election 2019: Everything you need to know”

Leave a reply